PM Terrance Drew expresses pride on Konris Maynard, delegation for representing St Kitts and Nevis at ITU PP-22
PM Terrance Drew expresses pride on Konris Maynard, delegation for representing St Kitts and Nevis at ITU PP-22

St Kitts and Nevis: Prime Minister of the Federation of St Kitts and Nevis Dr Terrance Drew has expressed proud on the Minister of Information, Communication and Technology (ICT) – Konris Maynard and his delegation for representing the country at International Telecommunication Unit (ITU) Plenipotentiary Conference (PP-22). The conference has been held in Bucharest, Romania.

Prime Minister Drew took social media and mentioned, “Greetings, Konris Maynard, Minister of Information, Communication, and Technology (ICT), and his delegation, Permanent Secretary Cheryleann Pemberton, E-Government Coordinator Sancho Duncan and Network Coordinator Tristan Vasquez, are currently representing St Kitts and Nevis at the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Plenipotentiary Conference (PP-22) in Bucharest, Romania.”

He furthermore wished them the best and anticipated to seeing advancements in our thrust toward Digital Transformation, including E-Governance and National Digital ID systems.

The ministers of St Kitts and Nevis has been representing the country among some other 3300 delegates from over 170 countries, including the United States of America, Qatar, Indonesia and Malaysia.

The Plenipotentiary Conference has been scheduled to be hosted from September 26 to October 14 in Romania. The opening of ITU’s 21st Plenipotentiary Conference, also known as PP-22, brought about 2,000 information and communication technology (ICT) decision-makers from ITU’s 193 Member States to Bucharest, Romania, to advance digital transformation for the good of all.

The day began with a flag-raising ceremony ahead of the official conference opening.

Day 2 of the ITU Plenipotentiary Conference (PP-22) featured further high-level policy statements from the ITU Member States on their respective digital transformation plans. Three of the six PP-22 Committees began their first official meetings, as did the Working Group of the Plenary (WG-PL).

Responsibilities are divided among committees as follows:
1. Steering Committee
2. Credentials
3. Budget
4. Editorial
5. Policy and legal issues
6. Administration and management and a Working Group of the Plenary.