Headley Weekes Tri-Series starts from April 19

Headley Weekes Tri-Series starts from April 19

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Caribbean, West Indies: The first edition of the Headley Weekes Tri-Series bowls off this morning at the Coolidge Cricket Ground, Antigua. Joshua Da Silva, the West Indies wicketkeeper and Alick Athanaze, the top scorer in the recently concluded West Indies Championship, have been appointed captains for Team Headley and Team Weekes, respectively, according to the update by social media page Cricket360.

These two teams are comprised of the leading players in the 2023 West Indies Championship and those deemed to be on the fringe of the Test team. The West Indies Academy is the other team participating in the series.

As per the update, the series’ purpose is to provide additional first-class opportunities for the top performers from the West Indies Championship in a competitive and intense setting, as well as chances for players who the selectors believe would benefit from playing red-ball cricket as West Indies prepare for the upcoming “A” Team tour of Bangladesh and the two-Test Series against India at home. All of the matches have been awarded first-class status.

Further, it mentioned that Athanaze was the leading batsman in the West Indies Championship with 647 runs, which included two centuries; he is joined in Team Weekes by left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul the second-highest wicket-taker with 28 wickets; and Jahmar Hamilton, who was the joint leading keeper with 19 dismissals.

Cricket360 added that team Headley will feature the veteran left-hander Darren Bravo, the second-highest run-scorer in the West Indies Championship with 446 runs which included two centuries; fast bowler Akeem Jordan the third-highest wicket-taker with 22 wickets in four matches; and Tevyn Walcott, the other joint leading wicketkeeper in the Championships.

Meet the teams:

Team Headley: Joshua Da Silva (captain), Sunil Ambris, Darren Bravo, Justin Greaves, Kavem Hodge, Chaim Holder, Akeem Jordan, Marquino Mindley, Shayne Moseley, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Kieran Powell, Tevyn Walcott.


Team Weekes: Alick Athanaze (captain), Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Keacy Carty, Dominic Drakes, Jahmar Hamilton, Brandon King, Jair McAllister, Zachary McCaskie, Veerasammy Permaul, Raymon Reifer, Kevin Sinclair, Nial Smith, and Devon Thomas.

West Indies Academy: Kevlon Anderson, Ackeem Auguste, Joshua Bishop, Teddy Bishop, McKenny Clarke, Rivaldo Clarke, Joshua James, Johann Layne, Kirk McKenzie, Ashmead Nedd, Kelvin Pitman, Keagan Simmons, dRamon Simmonds, Kevin Wickham and Nyeem Young.