Schedule announced for Caribbean Premier League

CPL to start from 28 August 2021, and final to be played on 19 September

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The 9th season of the Caribbean Premier League is finalized to begin from 28th August and will be ending till 19th September 2021. The West Indies Cricket Board has finalized all these details on 20th May 2021.

The Caribbean Premier League 2021 is will be hosted by St Kitts & Nevis and the matches will take place at Warner Park. Even in 2020, with COVID-19 on its highest peaks, the CPL received great interest from people across the world more than 523 million viewers,which was an enormous rise of 67% from 2019, getting the sponsors and marketing partners happy and satisfied.

For the past many years, the Caribbean Premier League has produced many star players of cricket and has fitted a few future stars, such as Shimron Heytmer and Nicholas Pooran. These players have played well in the Indian Premier League as well as in international cricket.

Pete Russell, Hero CPL’s COO, said: “It is really exciting to have the tournament window for 2021 confirmed, and I would like to thank St Kitts & Nevis government for agreeing to host this year’s event. We would also like to extend our thanks to Cricket West Indies for helping us create this window in a busy summer of cricket for them. We are looking forward to once again successfully staging the Hero CPL in 2021.”

The six teams are already busy concluding and recognizing their players ahead of another competitive tournament. The powerful champions Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) have released Pravin Tambe, Tim Seifert, Fawad Ahmed and Amir Jangoo.

TKR signed Denesh Ramdin on April 30. On the other hand, St Lucia Zouks have worked to maintain as many as seven players from the team that terminated third on the points table last time around.