Daren Sammy resigns as captain of St Lucia Zouks

Daren Sammy resigns as captain of St Lucia Zouks
Daren Sammy resigns as captain of St Lucia Zouks

Daren Sammy has resigned from his role as captain of St Lucia Zouks to become the franchise’s “T20 cricket consultant and brand ambassador” for the CP21 season in 2021.

Sammy led the Zouks – who had previously reached the playoffs once in seven seasons – to the final last year, after finishing third in the league phase and then bowling out Guyana Amazon Warriors for 55 in the semi-finals.

Sammy himself has faced 51 balls and bowled just three overs over his 12 games, and with his playing role increasingly limited, he would now rather join Andy Flower’s coaching staff.

Sammy, a two-time T20 world champion, has yet to confirm his retirement from all cricket but has not played since the CPL final in 2020 and is now head coach at his PSL franchise, Peshawar Zalmi.

“It was an absolute pleasure to be led from the foundation and to be part of the St Lucia Zouks,” Sammy said in a CPL media statement. ‘Although some may say that good thing should come to an end, it will not be in this case: St Lucia Zouks and I will always be a team.

“But since I did my coaching, I realize I have a new passion that enables me to continue to make a contribution and play a role in continuing the franchise in the pursuit of a CPL win the title and develop future stars. ”

Flower, who called Sammy an ‘icon of West Indies white ball cricket’ and ‘the heartbeat of St Lucia Zouks’, said:’ He decided to play away after a fantastic career at the West Indies, where he sided with two T20 World Cups, but also as a very inspiring leader, full of integrity, for the island. We want to continue our partnership with Daren as a part ambassador, part coach, part mentor with me. ‘

The Zouks also announced the detention of seven players from their 2020 squad ahead of the upcoming season, which begins on August 28 in St Kitts: Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Rahkeem Cornwall, Roston Chase, Obed McCoy, Mark Deyal and Javelle Glen.