Barbados: PM Mottley welcomes Congresswoman Waters to the region

Barbados: PM Mottley welcomes Congresswoman Waters to the region

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Barbados: Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley welcomed Congresswoman Maxine Waters of California to the region on April 22, 2022 (Friday).

Mia Mottley stated, “It felt good to be able to welcome to Barbados Congresswoman Maxine Waters of California, who serves as the Chairwoman of the US House Committee on Financial Services and accompanying members Congresswoman Joyce Beatty of Ohio, who also serves as Chair of the Congressional Black Caucus, Congressman Ed Perlmutter of Colorado and Congresswoman Sylvia Garcia of Texas. It was a very considerate gesture for the US Congressional delegation to include Congresswoman Stacey Plaskett, who is the Representative of our closest US neighbour and Congressman Troy Carter of Louisiana.”

Mottley further added that it afforded Heads of Government and their representatives of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) to come to Barbados and engage collectively with the US Congressional delegation on a number of important issues, including but not limited to our having to deal with the difficulties caused by de-risking.

“I’m delighted that Dr Carla Barnett, the Secretary-General of CARICOM, was able to attend as well as the current Chair of CARICOM, Juan Briceño, Prime Minister of Belize,” she added.

She further expressed, “I was very pleased that the CEOs of MoneyGram and Republic Financial Holdings attended and high-level officials of CIBC, Wells Fargo, Sagicor Financial, Western Union and others.”

Two-thirds of the 15-Member States of CARICOM and three Associate Members were present, including (along with PM Mottley and Prime Minister Briceño) – Roosevelt Skerrit, Prime Minister of the Commonwealth of Dominica; Dr Keith Mitchell, Prime Minister of Grenada; Dr Keith Rowley, Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago; Chan Santokhi – President of the Republic of Suriname; Phillip Pierre, Prime Minister of St. Lucia; Mark Phillips, Prime Minister of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana; E. David Burt, Premier of Bermuda; Saboto Caesar, Minister of Agriculture of St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Ronald Sanders, Antigua and Barbuda’s Ambassador to the USA; Dr Natalio Wheatley, Deputy Premier of the British Virgin Islands.

The Barbadian Prime Minister looked forward to strengthening our partnership with the United States on some issues that we believe are vital to our survival.