Trinidad & Tobago Olympic Committee to host 29th Annual Awards Ceremony

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Olympic Committee of Trinidad and Tobago has made an announcement about hosting the 29th Annual Awards Ceremony. The ceremony will take place on Friday, that is December 29, 2023, at the Port of Spain Ballroom, Hyatt Regency Wrightson Road, Port of Spain.

Notably, the award ceremony is a great opportunity to recognize and acknowledge the success of Trinidad and Tobago’s athletes all year round. Every year, athletes of the nation work hard to achieve sporting excellence as they represent the Red, White and Black.

Moreover, it is also a chance for the people to vote for their favourite athlete and make them the winner of the award.

The rules for voting for their favourite athlete: 

– Voting lines will close at midnight on Friday, 22 December 2023.

– Voters must be registered or Sign In to log in to their account to vote for their favourite athlete.

– If the voters do not see the name of the athlete they want to vote for, then they can directly send an email to, and the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee will add the people’s choice to drop the list below within 24 hours.

– One vote is allowed per user per day.

Furthermore, last year in the 28th Annual Awards Ceremony, the president of the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee, Diane Henderson, stated that the year 2022 proved to be an eventful and successful year in returning the sport to the Commonwealth Games; there were many positive moments which they were pleased about.

Although, many awards were presented last year to the athletes for their contribution in the field of sports.

The award for the Junior Sports Woman of the year and Junior Sports Man of the year were presented for exemplary achievement and contribution by an individual under the age of 20 years. 

The award for Junior Sports Woman of the Year was won by Phoebe Sandy, Cycling. In the men’s category, the award was received by Nikoli Blackman, a swimmer.

The next award was the Sports Personality Award 2022; this award was presented to Jereem Richards, whose contribution during the year was pivotal to the outstanding sports achievement. 

Further, the Future is Female award celebrates the leadership of an individual, team or organization demonstrating outstanding commitment, development and motivation of women in sports. Rachel Thompson King was the recipient of this award.

The Sportswoman of the Year was Teniel Campbell, Cycling and Sportsman of the Year was received by Jereem Richards. 

Alexander B. Chapman Award 2022 was presented for to Maureen Craig Rosseau for an outstanding contribution to sports, particularly in the promotion of Olympic ideals.

At the same time, the audience has also expressed their excitement for watching their sportspersons on the list.  

Nia Roberts
Nia Roberts
Nia Roberts, journalist at Writeups24, brings academic rigour and storytelling together. Nia's work covers diverse topics and uncovers hidden truths, amplifying marginalized voices. She stands as a paragon of journalistic integrity and a champion for the underrepresented. To reach Nia Roberts, you can email


Related Articles