Trinidad and Tobago host the 20th National Youth Parliament

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Trinidad and Tobago conducted the 20th National Youth Parliamentary Debate on Monday, 4th December 2023.

The Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago congratulated Tobagonians who were awarded at the National Youth Parliament.

Jhada Charles received the award for the Best Debater and she secured the first position. Meanwhile, Denzel Julien and Arianna Beeray both shared second place in Best Debater 2023.

Moreover, the Tobagonians were asked to vote for the People’s Choice debater in the 20th National Youth Parliament and Gabrielle Maharaj was recognised as the winner of the award.

Representatives in the National Youth Parliament

– Anya Nero was the representative of Signal Hill Secondary School.

– Kayleigh Lewis represented Goodwood Secondary.

– Dinesha Manning represented the Tobago Updates

– Luke James-Trim was the representative of the Tobago Youth Council.

– Jhada Charles represented the University of the Southern Caribbean.

– Avril Rivers represented the Trinidad and Tobago Youth Ambassadors.

The 2023 National Youth Parliamentarians honed their skills in the second mock debate on Thursday, 16th November 2023. The first mock debate for the 2023 National Youth Parliament in the House Chamber was conducted on 9th November.

The tokens were presented at the National Youth Parliament:

– Minister of Sport and Community Development and Member of Parliament for Tobago West, Shamfa Cudjoe-Lewis, MP, presented a token to Ms Shernice Cyrus.

– Ms Alana Atwell was presented a token by the Minister of Public Utilities and Member of Parliament for Lopinot/Bon Air West, Marvin Gonzales, MP.

– Deputy Speaker and Member of Parliament for Tunapuna, Mr Esmond Forde, MP, presented a token to Mr Avinash Manack. 

The Briefing session for students was held in the 19th National Youth Parliament. The session was held virtually via a Zoom meeting on Wednesday, 6th October 2021 from the timings 9 am to 11 am.

The Zoom meeting was attended by –

– Speaker of the House of Representatives, Bridgid Annisette-George, MP.

– Sen. Nigel de Freitas, the Vice President of the Senate

– Minister of National Development and National Service, Foster Cummings MP.

Last time, the Member for Barataria/San Juan, Mr Daniel Shieve Lutchman of Upper-level Educational Institue Limited, won the People’s Choice Award by winning the maximum number of votes in the online poll which was conducted during the 19th National Youth Parliament.

Nia Roberts
Nia Roberts
Nia Roberts, journalist at Writeups24, brings academic rigour and storytelling together. Nia's work covers diverse topics and uncovers hidden truths, amplifying marginalized voices. She stands as a paragon of journalistic integrity and a champion for the underrepresented. To reach Nia Roberts, you can email


Related Articles