Trinidad and Tobago: 11 individuals advance to finals of National Calypso Monarch

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Trinidad and Tobago: The Trinbago Unified Calypsonians Organisation (TUCO) announced the official list of the finalists for the Most Prestigious title in the World, the National Calypso Monarch.

The final round of the competition will be conducted at Dimanche Gras, Carnival on Sunday, 11th February 2024, at the Queen’s Park Savannah, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago.

It is to be noted that the ten finalists will be performing to emerge victory over reigning Monarch Ta’Zyah O’Connor and Tobago Monarch Dillon Thomas.

The event will be sponsored by Lifestyle Motors, Suzuki, the National Lotteries Control Board and Visit Trinidad.

The names of the ten finalists for the National Calypso Monarch are here as follows:

  • Brian London – Hell
  • Karene Asche – No Excuse
  • Mical Teja – D.N.A
  • Kurt Allen – De First Investigation
  • Machel Montano – Soul of Calypso
  • Aaron Duncan – Character
  • Winston Peters – Ungrateful
  • Helon Francis – Representing We
  • Roderick Gordon – Charlsie
  • Stacey Sobers – Respect the Tribe

Reserve: Victoria Cooper Rahim (Queen Victoria) – The Enemy

Calypso is known as the musical storybook of Trinidad and Tobago’s history. Calypso Monarch is considered one of the most prestigious events in the calypso world. It provides a platform for artists to showcase their talents, ensuring that future generations can enjoy this unique and vibrant art form.

Ta'zyah O'Connor was crowned the 2023 TUCO National Calypso Monarch. Picture Credits: Google Images
Ta’zyah O’Connor was crowned the 2023 TUCO National Calypso Monarch. Picture Credits: Google Images

Ta’zyah O’Connor was crowned the 2023 TUCO National Calypso Monarch; he topped a field of 12 finalists to emerge victorious. When Ta’zyah O’Connor was 9, back in 2012, he would have looked on as his father was crowned calypso monarch.

O’Connor was truly a deserver of the crown as he delivered an electrifying performance, integrated well with his backup dancers, who wore national colours, to offer his presentation.

Dillon Thomas, 2023 Tobago Calypso Monarch. Picture Credits: Fb accounts
Dillon Thomas, 2023 Tobago Calypso Monarch. Picture Credits: FB accounts

Meanwhile, Dillon Thomas is the 2023 Tobago Calypso Monarch. He performed under the sobriquet Dilly Suede and delivered a winning performance of his song It Wasn’t Me. Due to his exceptional performance; he was awarded a trophy and $100,00 as prize money.

Various residents of the community also took to their social media accounts and extended congratulations to the finalists of the Calypso Monarch. One person with a Facebook account, TUCOJuniorCalypso, commented, “Congratulations to all finalists and hats off to Tuco Trinidad-Tobago for an amazing show.”

Another person with a Facebook account commented the following: “Wishing all the best to the best of the lot.”

Nia Roberts
Nia Roberts
Nia Roberts, journalist at Writeups24, brings academic rigour and storytelling together. Nia's work covers diverse topics and uncovers hidden truths, amplifying marginalized voices. She stands as a paragon of journalistic integrity and a champion for the underrepresented. To reach Nia Roberts, you can email


Related Articles