Manipur to receive USD 500m from US, announces CM Biren Singh
Manipur to receive USD 500m from US, announces CM Biren Singh || Picture Courtesy: Local Media of Manipur

Manipur, India: The US has decided to give Manipur an investment of $500 million. N Biren Singh, the Chief Minister of Manipur, said this on Friday at a B20 venue event in the Imphal East district.

While leading the B20 delegates at the Ibudhou Marjing polo complex in Imphal, chief minister N Biren informed the news media that a corporation in the US had publicly committed to investing 500 million USD in the tourism sector.

The guarantee was offered at a meeting and discussion between the chief minister and the US representatives on Thursday night following the B20 summit held at the City Convention in Imphal, according to the chief minister.

In addition, the representatives from Argentina and Peru have asked Manipur’s administration for help in deploying the state’s female health professionals.

The CM added that several Manipuri nurses are currently employed in Japan as part of a contract.

N Biren further revealed that the Argentinan delegates raised concern about sports development initiatives, particularly when Manipur football players claimed that their state was India’s economic engine.

The CM, who is also in charge of planning, stated that his administration has deployed health workers from the state to Peru and Argentina and has welcomed proposed American funding.

When asked about additional foreign investments that other B20 delegates had suggested, the CM responded that the state was anticipating significant investment from other delegates from various nations.

The official G20 dialogue forum for the world’s business community, hosted by India and organised under the theme “One Earth, One Family, One Future,” the three-day conference was the first of four B20 meetings scheduled in the North East.

Participants at the B20 conference came from a number of countries, including Australia, Argentina, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Chad, Canada, China, France, Greece, Iceland, Japan, Nepal, Russia, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Switzerland, Tunisia, Uganda, the United States, and the United Kingdom.

Along with the representatives from these nations, other dignitaries in attendance include 24 diplomats, including ambassadors, and 26 business representatives from abroad.