Antigua and Barbuda to witness general elections on Jan 18, 2023
Antigua and Barbuda to witness general elections on Jan 18, 2023
Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Antigua and Barbuda: Prime Minister of the twin-island nation of Antigua and Barbuda, Gaston Browne, has announced that the country will witness general elections on January 18, 2023. The Prime Minister himself made the announcement.

The leader of Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party (ABLP), Gaston Browne, launched the party candidates on December 19, 2022, and highlighted that the government under his administration has worked for the people of the country by enhancing and developing various sectors, including education, healthcare, housing, technology as well as tourism.


According to the update by the government, Governor General Rodney Williams will issue the ‘Writ of Elections’ on December 20, 2022. The ABLP-led government has furthermore announced that interested candidates will fill the nomination on December 28 to contest the general election on January 18, 2023.

During the introduction of the candidates to the general public, Prime Minister Browne asked the people to ensure that the Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party team would return to office after the general elections. Furthermore, he pointed out the opposition United Progressive Party (UPP) and said, “Do not risk the governance of this country to a team of incompetent persons”.

Prime Minister furthermore outlined that people are the wind behind the sails. He was quoted saying, “We ask you to continue to support us. We will continue to give you the respect that you deserve as we work for your development and as we take this nation to the next level of development the country deserves.”

Prior to this, the twin island country of Antigua and Barbuda witnessed general elections on March 21, 2018. The general elections of 2018 saw the election of the House of Representatives of the 15th Session of the Parliament of Antigua and Barbuda. Each of the 17 constituencies elected one Parliament Member (MP).

General Elections 2018 were won by ABLP, which returned to power after securing victory in 15 out of 17 seats. As per the electoral commission, United Progressive Party, led by Harold Lovell, became the opposition party.