Ambassador Chien pledges to strengthen relationship b/w Taiwan & Belize

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Belize: On Monday, March 22, 2021, H.E. Sir Colville Young, the Governor-General of Belize, got letters of credence from H.E. David Kuan-Chou Chien, the new representative extraordinary and spokesman of the Republic of China (Taiwan) to Belize.

Ambassador Chien conducted greetings on behalf of Her Excellency Tsai Ing-wen, President of China’s Republic (Taiwan). 


Ambassador Chien pledged to promote mutual interests and strengthen the existing relationship of cooperation and goodwill between the two nations.

For his part, the Governor-General greeted the new ambassador and his delegation. He noted that Taiwan has long been a staunch friend and supporter of Belize’s growth and reemphasised Ambassador Chien’s pledge to extend the long-standing relations between the two nations. Belize and Taiwan established bilateral associations in the year 1989. 

Taiwan in Belize stated, “Ambassador Chien and the Embassy of the Republic of China (Taiwan) will continue to collaborate closely with the Government of Belize and all Belizean partners to promote the robust, cordial and mutually beneficial diplomatic ties and partnership between Taiwan and Belize.”

Belize has genuine economic and political affinities with both Mexico and the Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM), to which it relates; it has also allied with the 77-member African community, the Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States (ACP Group), formulated to manage commerce relations with the European Union (EU).

On the other hand, Taiwan has diplomatic relations with Guatemala (1960), Eswatini (1968), Haiti (1956), Honduras (1965), Marshall Islands (1998), Nauru (1980–2002, 2005) and Nicaragua (1990).

Currently, 15 countries recognise Taiwan as the ROC (and thus do not have established relations with Beijing): Belize, Guatemala, Haiti, Holy See, Honduras, St Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Nicaragua, Palau, Paraguay, Swaziland and Tuvalu.

Moreover, The Republic of China administration received Taiwan in 1945 from Japan, then left in 1949 to Taiwan to retake mainland China. In reality, the PRC rules only Mainland China and has no control of but claims Taiwan as part of its territory under its “One China Principle.”

Click here for more news


Related Articles