Dominica: PM Roosevelt Skerrit meets delegation from Afreximbank
Dominica: PM Roosevelt Skerrit meets delegation from Afreximbank || Picture Courtesy: Afreximbank

Roseau, Dominica: The Prime Minister of the Commonwealth of Dominica, Dr Roosevelt Skerrit, attended a meeting with the African Export-Import Bank – Afreximbank earlier this week. The conference was organised in the midst of the forty-fourth Regular Meeting of Heads of Government of the CARICOM Community in Nassau, The Bahamas.

The update about the meeting was shared by Afreximbank, the Africa-Caribbean Bank took to social media and also shared a glimpse of the meeting. “Afreximbank held a meeting with Heads of Government of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) during the Forty-fourth (44th) Regular Meeting of Heads of Government of CARICOM,” the post by the ministry read.


According to the update by the Bank, along with Prime Minister Skerrit, the meeting was attended by other Caribbean leaders also, including Gaston Browne – Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda, Philip J Pierre – Prime Minister of Saint Lucia and Dr Terrance Michael Drew – Prime Minister of St Kitts and Nevis.

Authorities from Bank and the government discussed various ways to strengthen the finances in the countries. “Prof Oramah introduced the Bank and some of its facilities and discussed various ways the Bank can support the OECS countries,” the post by Bank read.

In addition to this, the meeting was also attended by Kanayo Awani, Executive Vice President intra-African Trade Bank and others members of staff of Afreximbank.

Along with this, the Afreximbank Delegation met with the Director General of the Eastern Caribbean States Organization, Dr Jules Didacus.

They discussed potential partnerships with countries in the Eastern Caribbean, Potential opportunities for the Bank’s Support in the Region as well as Engagements with Heads of government of OECS at the CARICOM Summit. Dr Didacus was received by Afreximbank President Prof Benedict Oramah and Executive Vice-President Kanayo Awani.