Dominica Citizenship by Investment Programme

Dominica increases minimum investment to qualify for CBI  

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Roseau, Dominica: Taking a historic step, the government of Dominica has increased the minimum investment threshold for the CBI Programme to US$200,000 under the Economic Diversification Fund (EDF).  

The changes have been made with the new Citizenship by Investment Regulations 2024 that set out the minimum investment amounts, define key terms, and specify the eligibility criteria for main applicants and their dependants.  

As part of this landmark move, under the new price adjustments, the main applicant must make a non-refundable contribution of US$200,000 to EDF which is a US$100,000 increase from the previous investment. The cost of the contribution will further be increased by the number of dependents included in the application.  

New Changes to EDF 

As part of new regulations, a single applicant needs to invest USD 200,000. While main applicant with up to three qualifying dependants is now required to cotnribute US$250,000 under the EDF to qualify for the Citizenship of Dominica.  

On the other hand, for any additional dependant under the age of eighteen, the minimum investment of US$25,000 has been set by the CBIU.  

The Unit announced that the investment of US$40,000 will be made by the applicant for any additional dependant who is eighteen years of age or older than that.  

Under the additional fees to the EDF, the Unit announced that the processing fees of US$1,000 will be applicable per application. The Due Diligence Fee for the main applicant will remain US$7,500 and for each dependant aged 16 years or above, the applicant will have to invest US$4,000.  

The fees for the Certificate of Naturalisation have been announced as US$500 per person and all applicants aged 16 and over will be subject to an interview fee of US$1,000. 

MOA signed by Dominica 

Notably, the new price adjustments have been announced by the government to Dominica in order to implement the provisions that were outlined in the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA).  

The MOA which was signed by five OECS countries with the CBI Programmes including Dominica, Antigua and Barbuda, Saint Lucia, Grenada and St Kitts and Nevis stated that the countries will have to increase their minimum investment threshold by June 30, 2024.  

With new changes, the government aims to solidify its commitment to make the CBI programme transparent, and up to the global standards.