CARICOM Resident Missions in Canada hosts CARICOM Day Reception

CARICOM Resident Missions in Canada hosts CARICOM Day Reception

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Georgetown, Guyana: CARICOM Resident Missions in Canada hosted CARICOM Day Reception ahead of the celebration of the 50th anniversary of Caribbean Community – CARICOM. The government heads of the Caribbean region will be attending the 46th Meeting of the Heads of CARICOM in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago.

On the occasion of the 50th anniversary since the establishment of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), the Heads of CARICOM Missions in Canada hosted a CARICOM Day Reception on 23 June 2023 at the National Arts Centre, Ottawa, Canada, according to the update about The High Commission for the Cooperative Republic of Guyana in Canada.

In attendance were representatives from the Diplomatic Corps, Global Affairs Canada, Senators and other Members of Parliament, other Government Departments, Crown Corporations and Agencies in Canada, the Diaspora Community and Friends of CARICOM.

As per the update, during the Opening Ceremony, remarks were delivered by Sharon Miller, High Commissioner for Jamaica to Canada, on behalf of her fellow CARICOM Heads of Mission; and the Mary Ng, Minister of International Trade, Export Promotion, Small Business and Economic Development, Canada, on behalf of the Government of Canada.

A video message from Dr Carla Barnett, Secretary-General, Caribbean Community (CARICOM) was also played during the Opening Ceremony, according to the High Commission.

The CARICOM Day Reception is one of the activities planned by the CARICOM Heads of Mission in Ottawa to celebrate CARICOM@50.

This event presented another opportunity for Keith George, High Commissioner for the Cooperative Republic of Guyana to Canada to engage with the members of the Guyanese diaspora residing in Canada, especially those who were in attendance.

It is worth mentioning that there are seven (7) representative CARICOM Missions in Ottawa, Canada, namely, The Bahamas, Barbados, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis and Trinidad and Tobago.