Caribbean to host T20 World Cup 2024 ( Picture Courtesy - Google)

Barbados, Guyana and Trinidad to host Finals and Semi-finals of T20 World Cup 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Georgetown, Guyana – Three Caribbean Nations: Barbados, Guyana and Trinidad’s bid to host the Finals and Semi-finals of the T20 World Cup 2024 has been accepted. Guyana is one of the three countries which will host the finals and semi-finals of the International Cricket Council World T20 in June 2024.

Initially, it was a sport for the elites, an institution of “High culture for the civilised”. However, it is played today as one of the main sources of entertainment in most countries.

President Dr Kishore Shallow on T20 World Cup 2024:

The chairman of the West Indies Cricket Board, Dr Kishore Shallow, declared that Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago were the other contenders on a popular Barbadian radio programme on Tuesday evening.

Dr Kishore Shallow is a cricket administrator from St. Vincent and the Grenadines who previously held the positions of President of the Windward Islands Cricket Board of Control and President of St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association.

However, Dr Kishore dismissed the suggestion of Barbados hosting the final. The decision will be laid down at the ICC Board meeting in November.

Caribbean Nations as Co-Host – T20 World Cup:

As per the confirmation of ICC, Antigua and Barbuda, St. Lucia, Guyana, Dominica, Barbados, Trinidad & Tobago, and St Vincent & The Grenadines are the seven Caribbean venues that will host matches during the T20 World Cup from June 4 to 20.

USA as a Co-Host- T20 World Cup:

The USA is also in the race to co-host the event of T20 World Cup for the first time, with Grand Prairie in Dallas, Broward County in Florida, and Nassau County in New York being pushed as host venues.

20 teams will contest for the trophy, playing 55 matches.

Cricket has a rich history in the Caribbean region, which has its roots in pre-independence times. The sport has been played in the region for a long time, and it holds a special place in the hearts of the people.

The first known reference to cricket in the West Indies is supposed to be from June 1806 in Barbados Mercury and Bridgetown Gazette.
St. Annes Garrison Club and the Integrated cricket pitches into garrisons in the Caribbean are some of the famous cricket clubs of the Caribbean region. They were established to ensure British cultural dominance and social respectability.

Iconic players – Caribbean region:

Many of the World’s greatest cricketers hailed from the Caribbean region. The following is the list of a few of the best players from the region:

1. Brian Lara
2. Vivian Richards
3. Clive Lloyd
4. Garfield Sobers
5. Lance Gibbs
6. Malcolm Marshall
7. Frank Worrell

The people of the Caribbean are hugely fond of Cricket, and it is a great treat for them that the countries of their region are about to host the T20 World Cup 2024.

It will also encourage and attract tourism to their countries, which will also help them in their cultural and economic growth.