Seven Caribbean nations set to host T20 World Cup 2024

Seven Caribbean nations set to host T20 World Cup 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Caribbean: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the venues for the T20 World Cup 2024. As per the announced schedule, seven (7) Caribbean nations will host the cricket tournament.

ICC, through its official website, confirmed that the following Caribbean countries will be hosting the matches:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Barbados
  • The Commonwealth of Dominica
  • Guyana
  • Saint Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago

These venues will be hosting the matches from June 4 to June 30, 2023.

ICC Chief Executive – Geoff Allardice expressed his happiness while making this announcement. He also highlighted that this is the third time the West Indies will be hosting such a huge cricket tournament.

Geoff Allardice said, “We’re delighted to announce the seven Caribbean venues that will host the biggest ICC Men’s T20 World Cup ever staged, with 20 teams competing for the trophy. They’re all popular venues with players and fans alike that will provide a wonderful backdrop to the event,” according to the official website.

He furthermore added that for the third time in history, the cricket fans in the Caribbean will enjoy matches with a unique experience. Allardice furthermore took the platform to extend thanks towards the Cricket Board of West Indies and the government of the seven host nations.

He expressed, “I would like to extend my thanks towards Cricket West Indies and the government of seven countries for their continued commitment and support of the sport.”

Remaining venues of 2024 World Cup T20:

According to the official update by the International Cricket Council (ICC), there are as many as ten (10) venues which will host the cricket matches during the tournament. Apart from the seven venues of the Caribbean region, the remaining three venues will be in the United States of America.

Three provinces of the USA which will be hosting the cricket enthusiasts for this time’s T20 World Cup are:

  • Dallas
  • Florida
  • New York City.

It is worth highlighting that it is the first time in history that the United States of America will be hosting the ICC World Cup T20. The tournament will be played in Grand Prairie in Dallas, Broward County in Florida and Nassau Country in New York City.

Top 10 ICC Men’s T20I Ranking:

The first position at the points table has been secured by India, followed by England – which is in the second position. The third and fourth position has been taken by South Africa and Pakistan, respectively. On the fifth place, New Zealand has booked its spot.

Furthermore, the sixth position is taken by Australia and West Indies has been following the country by marking its place at seventh position. The eighth, ninth and tenth position has been secured by Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan, respectively.

Total number of teams which will play in the T20 World Cup:

According to the ICC, around twenty (20) teams will be playing in the tournament, out of which fifteen (15) have booked their spots.

In total, the West Indies and United States are the two teams who will automatically qualify as they are the hosting nations. The remaining teams will qualify through the ICC qualifier matches:

Asia Qualifier – 2 teams
Africa Qualifier – 2 teams
Americas Qualifier – 2 teams
Europe Qualifier – 2 teams
East Asia-Pacific Qualifier – 1 team