Nevis: CCM Leader Mark Brantley wins from District 2, to retain position of Premier
Nevis: CCM Leader Mark Brantley wins from District 2, to retain position of Premier

St Kitts and Nevis: Leader of Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM) Mark Brantley has once again bagged victory and will serve as the Premier of Nevis Island Administration for second consecutive term. Brantley battled from Nevis#2 – St John’s and secured 1313 votes. After winning the Assembly Elections 2022, Brantley thanked each and every supporter for voting him and trusting him. He also assured that he will continue to work for the people of Nevis and will take the Administration to the new heights.

Mark Brantley served as the fifth Premier of NIA and was successor of Vance Amory, who passed away at the age of 72 on April 2, 2022. Amory served the nation from 1992 to 2006 and from 2013 to 2017.

As per the result shared by the Electoral Commission, three seats were won by the Concerned Citizens Movement and remaining two were bagged by Nevis Reformation Party. According to the declared result, the seat at Nevis #1 – St Pauls was won by Spencer Brand of CCM. Brand won 631 votes and 604 votes of Nevis Reformation Party won 604 votes.

Furthermore, as the results were disclosed the seat from Nevis #3 – St George was claimed by CCM’s Eric Evelyn with 736 votes and on the other side NRP’s Rohan Isles won only 311 votes.

On the other side, the seat at Nevis #4 and Nevis #5 were won by Nevis Reformation Party. In Nevis #4, the seat was won by Dr Janice Daniel of the Nevis Reformation Party, who won 750 votes. The candidate of Concerned Citizens Movement, Alexis Jeffers lost by just eight votes, gathering 742 votes. It was indeed a neck-to-neck battle in the constituency.

Nevis #5 witnessed winning of Nevis Reformation Party. By winning 712 votes, Cleohe Stapleton Simmons won the seat and his opponent Latoya Jones of Concerned Citizens Movement gathered 508 votes.

The Assembly Elections in Nevis Island Administration was held on December 12, 2022 and the result was declared on the night of similar day.