Schedule announced for Caribbean Premier League

CPL: St Lucia Zouks all set to have new name “St Lucia Kings”

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The franchise of St Lucia had announced that they have been changing the name from Zouks to Kings. These changes have been made for the upcoming Caribbean League. KPH Dream Cricket Private Limited is the owner of the St Lucia CPL team. KPH Dream Cricket Private Limited is the same who owns the Punjab Kings franchise in the Indian Premier League.

Barbados Tridents also set to change their name to Barbados Royals. Barbados Tridents have been 2-times Hero CPL champion. This has been another team after St Zouks to change their name. This name change of the Barbados Tridents comes by following a deal that resulted in the Royals Sports Group (EM Sporting Holdings Ltd), the Rajasthan Royals IPL franchise owners taking a majority stake in the team.

As per the statement of CPL authorities, the St Lucia Kings would be sharing branding & the other assets with their collaborators at the IPL as the ownership team leads to further strong ties between the two brands.
The statement cited, “This synergy would help build on the successes the team has had since the new owners arrived after they finished as runners-up at last year’s Hero CPL tournament.”

Darren Sammy, the assistant coach and mentor of St Lucia Kings, said that he loved the new logo, and he also loved the new name. That has been a pleasure to be associated with the Kings Franchise, and he truly hope that the name could inspire their players to play like the true Kings that they are. St Lucia King would be playing their first match with the Jamaica Tallawahs on Friday, August 27. Andy Flower would be giving coaching & guiding the team and would have the likes of Andre Fletcher, Faf du Plessis, Rakheem Cornwall and Wahab Riaz in their ranks.

The Caribbean Premier League has been an annual Twenty-20 cricket tournament that has been conducted every year in the Caribbean region. Cricket West Indies founded it in 2013 to succeed the Caribbean Twenty-20 as the premier Twenty-20 competition in the Caribbean region.