Barbados to host finals of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Final 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Barbados, the island nation, is all set to host the finals of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The final match will take place on Saturday, 29th June 2024. The game will be played at Kensington Oval Stadium.

Considerably, a total of 9 matches will be played in Barbados, including the finals. The matches that have been scheduled to take place in Barbados are on Sunday, 2 June; Tuesday, 4 June; Wednesday, 5 June; Thursday, 6 June; Saturday, 8 June; Thursday, 20 June; Friday, 21 June; Sunday, 23 June and Saturday, 29th June.

Notably, it will be a 29-day tournament, as the matches will begin from Saturday, 1 June to Saturday, 29 June 2024. The matches will be held in six Caribbean venues and three in the United States of America, which are Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Guyana, Saint Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Dallas, Florida and New York.

Kensington Oval Stadium

The Kensington Oval is located to the west of the capital city, Bridgetown, on the island of Barbados. “The Oval” is one of the major sporting facilities on the island and is primarily used for cricket. It is locally referred to as “The Mecca” of cricket.

The stadium is also known as Pickwick Cricket Club, and it was established in 1882. This stadium has been renovated a lot of times, which has subsequently increased its capacity of visitors from 15,000 to almost double of it.

Kensington Oval Stadium has hosted some of the crucial matches, such as The 2007 Cricket World Cup Final between Australia and Sri Lanka and the 2010 ICC World T20 Final between England and Australia.

The pitch of the stadium is a batting pitch characterized by its fast and bouncy nature. Over the years, the pitch has seen many changes. Also, the match depends on the weather conditions, as the weather in Barbados generally offers hot conditions with a minor chance of rain. Such conditions contribute to the consistent playability of the pitch.

Additionally, the project manager at Hellas Construction Company, Ryan Detry, has stated that “work is to be done to retrofit the light fixtures at the Kensington Oval Stadium ahead of the ICC T20 Men’s World Cup.”

The Prime Minister of Barbados, Mia Amor Mottley, has also shown her excitement and gratitude and stated that “Barbados’ selection to host the T20 World Cup Final is nothing short of a privilege and an honour.”

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

A total of 20 teams divided into four groups will compete across 55 games to emerge as the winner of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Championship 2024. The teams that will participate in the tournament are India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA, England, Australia, Nambia, Scotland, Oman, New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Nepal.

West Indies Team

The West Indies team has not been announced yet for the World Cup 2024. Also, the West Indies Cricket has announced their squad for three T20 internationals against Australia.

During the announcement of the selection, the lead selector of West Indies Cricket, Desmond Haynes, stated that “such forms of the match play a crucial role for the preparation of the upcoming T20 World Cup where we are hosts. We are hoping to build on a strong performance against India and England as we approach the major tournaments in future.”

Nia Roberts
Nia Roberts
Nia Roberts, journalist at Writeups24, brings academic rigour and storytelling together. Nia's work covers diverse topics and uncovers hidden truths, amplifying marginalized voices. She stands as a paragon of journalistic integrity and a champion for the underrepresented. To reach Nia Roberts, you can email


Related Articles