Trinbago Knight Riders defeated Jamaica Tallawahs with 7 wickets

Trinbago Knight Riders defeated Jamaica Tallawahs with 7 wickets

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Trinbago Knight Rides again secured their position in the Top 4 teams of CPL 2021. After winning the match with a seven-wicket victory against Jamaica Tallawahs during the match on Monday, September 6.

The Knight Riders, after winning the toss, chose for fielding first. This decision afterwards proved beneficial for the team to lead them to victory.

The bowling was praised and was like an attack on the opponents Tallawahs. Carlos Brathwaite and Imad Wasim gave a good chance to restructure the victory to the Tallawahs a total to try and defend. 

Scores of both teams were:

Trinbago Knight Riders 145/3 (17.1) VS Jamaica Tallawahs 144/7 (20) 

After returning to form, Lendl Simmons scores 70, which took Knight Riders to win the match. Many other natural changes like injuries in the camp resulted in the team of Tallawahs for their slow innings and a poor start after losing five wickets during the PowerPlay. At the halfway stage of the innings, they could only gather 34 runs as the TKR bowling combinations of Akeal Hosein, Ravi Rampaul, Sunil Narine, and Khary Pierre offered no freebies. 

Scores of the match: Jamaica Tallawahs: 

  • 144/7 (Brathwaite 58, Imad 42 Hosein 2/12, Rampaul 2/26) lost to Trinbago Knight Riders: 145/3 (Simmons 70, Munro 34; Imad 2/19, Pretorius 1/39) by seven wickets.

Players of Trinbago Knight Riders: Kieron Pollard (C), Khary Pierre, Lendl Simmons, Anderson Phillip, Jayden Seales, Tion Webster Akeal Hosein, Ali Khan, Isuru Udana, Ravi Rampaul, Leonardo Julien, Denesh Ramdin, Sunil Narine, Yasir Shah, Darren Bravo, Colin Munro.

Players of Jamaica Tallawahs: Rovman Powell (C), Carlos Brathwaite, Chadwick Walton, Fidel Edwards, Veerasammy Permaul, Ryan Persaud, Andre Russell, Haider Ali, Jason Mohammed, Qais Ahmad, Migael Pretorius, Kennar Lewis, Abhijai Mansingh. Joshua James, Kirk McKenzie.

Tuesday, September 7: Jamaica Tallawahs vs Trinbago Knight Riders (07:30 pm IST)

Wednesday, September 8: Barbados Royals vs Guyana Amazon Warriors (04:40 am IST) and St Kitts & Nevis Patriots vs Jamaica Tallawahs (07:30 pm IST)

Thursday, September 9: Guyana Amazon Warriors vs St Lucia Kings (4:30 am IST) and Barbados Royals vs Trinbago Knight Riders (07:30 pm IST)