Guyana welcomed 52 Cuban health professionals

Guyana welcomes 52 Cuban health professionals

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

On Monday, Guyana welcomed the group of 56 health professionals from Cuba. Guyana praised the Cuban Government for extending help in this period of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Director-General of the Ministry of Health, Dr Vishwa Mahadeo, said, “Our heartfelt thanks for taking up the challenge, for being here, to come to serve Guyana presently at this time of crisis, a pandemic. We have laboratory technologists, pharmacists, we have an entire medical team, a complete brigade, and you will be serving us, the Guyanese people, across the country.”

While addressing at the ceremony held, Dr the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) said that he would be taking his opportunity on behalf of their President, Dr Mohamed Irfaan Ali and on behalf of their Minister of Health, Dr Frank Anthony to welcome all of them and to tell them that they would try their best to make their life comfortable.

The group of 56 health professionals includes 20 intensivists who would assist primarily to the Infectious Diseases Hospital, internal medicine, anesthesiology, gynaecology, obstetrics and pediatrics and medical specialists in general surgery. This group also include a staff of nurses, pharmacists and laboratory technicians.

Dr Mahadeo said that with the assistance of the group of Cuban health professionals, they are now able to send more specialists in other regions, than the traditional areas to start training in pharmacy assistants, laboratory technicians and so on. So, the batch there, they should be able to make some strides that they had not made before with the composition.

According to his statement, these Cuban Medical Brigade have been coming to Guyana to assist their health care staff for more than 44 years. The Guyana government has been thankful to the Cuban Government and Havana for their support. Previous Friday, Cuban health officials were given a farewell that was working in Guyana for four years.