CPL 2022: Six teams announce 2022 pre-draft retentions and signings

CPL 2022: Six teams announce 2022 pre-draft retentions and signings

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Caribbean: The Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2022 will commence on August 30, 2022. On April 4, six teams have announced the pre-draft retentions and signings of local players for this season.

As per the latest information, the players will arrive in the Caribbean on August 23, 2022. For this season, there were two pre-draft windows. In the first window, each team can retain up to five Caribbean players with a maximum of two from the top five salary spots, and in the second window, teams have to choose two more local players. These could be new signings from those who were not retained by other teams or players who appeared for that team in the previous season.

The six teams which have announced the retained and signed players are-

1.) Trinbago Knight Riders
2.) St Kitts and Nevis Patriots
3.) Jamaica Tallawahs
4.) Saint Lucia Kings
5.) Barbados Royals
6.) Guyana Amazon Warriors

The five players ‘retained’ by Trinbago Knight Riders are – Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, and Tion Webster. The newly signed players are – Andrew Russell and Nicholas Pooran.

The newcomers in Saint Lucia Kings are Johnson Charles, and Mark Deyal and the retained players are Roston Chase, Kesrick Williams, Jeavor Royal and Alzarri Joseph.

The Barbados Royals retained their 2021 captain, Jason Holder, along with Kyle Mayers, Hayden Walsh, Oshane Thomas and Nyeem Young and signed Devon Thomas and Obed.

The Jamaica Tallawahs have retained their 2021 captain Rovman Powell, Kennar Lewis and Shamarh Brooks. The Tallawahs new signed players are Brandon King and Fabian Allen.

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots have retained Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Sheldon Cottrell, Sherfane Rutherford and Dominic Drakes. Their news signings are Darren Bravo and Andre Fletcher.

The Guyana Amazon Warriors have retained Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Shimron Hetmyer, and Chandrapaul Hemraj and signed Keemo Paul and Gudakesh Motie.

In 2021, the championship was bagged by St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, and the first runners-up were Saint Lucia Kings.