Bahamas government unveils cabinet reshuffle: key ministries assigned

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Nassau: The Bahamas government announced a reshuffle of the cabinet following two years of completion of the administration. The move is seen as a strategic effort to reenergize its administration and address necessary issues for governance and public concern. The reshuffle highlights the government’s commitment to adaptability and responsiveness as it navigates the challenges and opportunities ahead.

Prime Minister of Bahamas, Philip E Davis will remain as Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and I Chester Cooper will hold responsibilities of Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Tourism, Investments and Aviation. All portfolios are listed below: 

Philip E Davis: Prime Minister, Minister of Finance 

I Chester Cooper: Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Tourism, Investments and Aviation

Frederick Mitchell: Minister of Foreign Affairs 

Glenys Hanna-Martin: Minister of Education and Technical and Vocational Training 

Obediah Wilchcombe: Minister of Social Services, Information and Broadcasting, Leader of Government Business in the House of Assembly 

Alfred Sears: Minister of Immigration and National Insurance 

Senator L Ryan Pinder: Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Senator Michael B Halkitis: Minister of Economic Affairs and Leader of Government Business in the Senate

Dr Michael Darvile: Minister of Health and Wellness

Clay Sweeting: Minister of Works and Family Island Affairs

Keith R Bell: Minister of Housing and Urban Renewal 

Wayne Munroe: Minister of National Security

Vaughn P Miller: Minister of Environment and Natural Resources

Jobeth Coleby-Davis: Minister of Energy and Transport

Mario K Bowleg: Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture

Ginger Moxey: Minister for Grand Bahama

Jomo Campbell: Minister of Agriculture and Marine Resources

Pia Glover-Rolle: Minister of Labour and the Public Service