Jamaica: Prime Minister Holness announces new Cabinet

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Kingston, Jamaica: Prime Minister Andrew Holness has reshuffled the Cabinet of the Jamaican government, making some significant changes. The modifications have been made on the advice of PM Holness to the Governor-General. 

The sworn-in ceremony of these newly appointed ministers will take place virtually today (Tuesday, January 11, 2022). 

Below is the list of new Cabinet as per the recent changes: 

  1. Office of the Prime Minister – (to include the information Portfolio) – Prime Minister Andrew HolnessRobert Morgan – (minister without Portfolio), Floyd Green (minister without Portfolio), and Homer Davis (special projects). 
  2. Ministry of Economic Growth & Job Creation – Prime Minister Andrew Holness, Robert Montague – (minister without Portfolio), Clifford Warmington – (minister without Portfolio), Matthew Samuda (minister without Portfolio). 
  3. Ministry of Labour & Social security – Karl Samuda
  4. Ministry of the National Security – Dr Horace ChangZavia Mayne (state minister)
  5. Ministry of Agriculture & Fisheries – Pearnel Charles Jr., Frank Witter (state minister)
  6. Ministry of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sports – Olivia Grange, Alando Terrelonge (state minister)
  7. Ministry of Tourism – Edmund Bartlett 
  8. Ministry of Finance & the Public Service – Dr Nigel Clarke, Marsha Smith (state minister)
  9. Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade – Kamina Johnson Smith, Leslie Campbell (state minister)
  10. Ministry of Health and Wellness – Dr Christopher Tufton, Juliet Cuthbert-Flynn (state minister)
  11. Ministry of Industry, Investment and Commerce – Aubyn Hill, Norman Dunn (state minister)
  12. Ministry of Education and Youth – Fayval Williams 
  13. Ministry of Transport and Mining – Audley Shaw, William J.C. Hutchinson (state minister)
  14. Ministry of Justice – Delroy Chuck
  15. Ministry of Legal and Constitutional Affairs – Marlene Malahoo Forte 
  16. Ministry of Local Government and Rural Government – Desmond McKenzie 
  17. Ministry of Science, Energy and Technology – Daryl Vaz
  18. Attorney General – Derrick McKoy

In the changes, where several new appointments have been made, there are also a few ministers whose ministry have been shuffled.