Dominica: PM Roosevelt Skerrit interacts with TU members, independent candidates
Dominica: PM Roosevelt Skerrit interacts with TU members, independent candidates

Dominica: Prime Minister of the Commonwealth of Dominica, Dr Roosevelt Skerrit, met with the members of the Team Unity Dominica (TUD) and independent candidates who participated in the snap general elections 2022. The leaders and PM Skerrit interacted on Friday, December 9, 2022.

Prime Minister took social media and stated, “On Friday, I had a most constructive discussion with the independent candidates and the members of Team Unity Dominica who contested the December 6 general elections.”

During the meeting, the ministers discussed the pressing areas of concern in their respective constituencies and offered workable solutions. “I look forward to similar engagements with more of you as we work together, hand in hand, for the development of our country,” PM Skerrit added.

On the same day, PM Roosevelt Skerrit met with the newly-elected Parliamentary Representative of the Marigot Constituency, Anthony Charles. During the meet, PM Skerrit assured that he will support Charles for his ideas and plans, focusing on the development and growth of the Constituency.

Prime Minister interacted with the participants of elections 2022, including independent candidates and Team Unity members.

The general elections, held on December 6, was won by the Dominica Labour Party, after bagging nineteen (19) seats out of twenty-on (21). It is worth noting that this year DLP has won for sixth consecutive time.

After claiming victory, Prime Minister Skerrit thanked the general public for supporting him and his alliance and promised that he will continue to work diligently with the independent candidates, hailing from Marigot and Salisbury.

In 2022, Dominica elections were not regular as it witnessed highest number of nominations, i.e. 45. Out of the total, six were unopposed, including

  • Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit from Vielle Case Constituency
  • Dr Irving Francis McIntyre from Roseau Valley
  • Darren Pinard from Colihaut
  • Roland Royer from Cottage
  • Lakeyia Lennicia Jamelle Joseph from Paix Bouche Constituency
  • Jullan B.G Defoe from Petite Savanne Constituency