Antigua: Nominations open for National Youth Awards 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Antigua and Barbuda Department of Youth Affairs is all set to host National Youth Awards 2024. It is to be noted that the Ministry of Youth Affairs of the twin-island nation has shared the nomination form through their Facebook account, through which people can get themselves nominated for the awards.

Notably, there is a general criterion which needs to be followed in order to get themselves registered for the process of nomination. The condition includes,

  • The nominee should be a resident of Antigua and Barbuda.
  • The nominee should be between 12 and 35 years old.
  • The nominee should be excelled in the category chosen by them.
  • The nominee should have a good social standing or character in society.

Moreover, the nomination form includes various questions to be filled, which are: Name of Nominee, Age of Nominee, Gender, Award Categories, Brief description/explanation, Address, Nominee’s telephone number, Email, Name of person making a nomination, Relation to Nominee, Contact Information, Signature and Date.

It is to be further added that the award categories included in the Nomination Form are Education, Mental Health, Sports, Tourism, Culinary Arts, Young Pioneer, Agriculture, Young activist, Young Artisan, Community Service, Youth NGO, Barbuda Development, Phoenix, Prime Minister’s Entrepreneurial Development Programme, Culture & Performing Arts and Young Media Practitioner.

The Antigua and Barbuda Department of Youth Affairs also shared the deadline to submit the nomination form for National Youth Award is 31st July, 2024. Along with that, in case of any query, the residents can contact them through email id: or through phone number by dialling (268) 781-3078 or 774-0958.

In addition, the Department of Youth Affairs of Antigua and Barbuda conducted the National Youth Awards on 13th January 2024 at Casa Palmadita at 6:30 pm. The awards were held under the theme “Creating an impactful legacy.”

While shedding light on the recipients of National Youth Awards 2023, the winners were:

  • The Culinary Arts Award was presented to Ashema Willock.
  • Michelle Seaforth won the Tourism Award
  • Caryl Jones Michael received the Barbuda Development Award.
  • Shemoy Rhodes won the Agriculture Award.
  • The Young Pioneer Award was given to Travis Weste and Joseph Nunes.
  • The Prime Minister’s Entrepreneurial Development Programme Award was given to Tamorla Millette.
  • Ambassador Melissa Seaforth and Ethan Stubbs-Green received the Young Sportsman Award.
  • Ruleo Camacho received the Young Environmentalist Award.
  • The Young Media Practitioner Award was presented to Robert A. Emmanuel.
  • Young Activist and Community Service award was received by Esquire Henry.
  • Ranee Laronde-Thomas and Khan M.T. Cordice won the Culture and Performing Arts Programme.
  • Education Award Top Grade Six Student was won by Elyssa A. M. Athill.
  • Chindindu D. Ohaegbulam received the Education Award for Top CSEC Student.

National Youth Awards recognises the unwavering dedication and outstanding work of people in the field of national development and social service.

Nia Roberts
Nia Roberts
Nia Roberts, journalist at Writeups24, brings academic rigour and storytelling together. Nia's work covers diverse topics and uncovers hidden truths, amplifying marginalized voices. She stands as a paragon of journalistic integrity and a champion for the underrepresented. To reach Nia Roberts, you can email


Related Articles